Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
All reviews - Movies (318) - TV Shows (17) - DVDs (21) - Books (221) - Music (8)

Fair Game review

Posted : 6 years, 4 months ago on 29 March 2011 06:06 (A review of Fair Game)

Now here's an excellent movie!
Based on a real-life event - remember the Ambassador and his CIA-agent wife, who was named in a newspaper article? this is a movie about them - indeed, Sean Penn and Naomi Watts are at their best, portraying the afore-mentioned couple.
Very efficient spy thriller. Worth watching. Doug Liman's best directing job so far.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Black Swan review

Posted : 6 years, 4 months ago on 29 March 2011 05:58 (A review of Black Swan)

***SPOILER ALERT. SPOILER ALERT. SPOILER ALERT.***

WHAT?!?!?! ANOTHER PIECE OF CRAP?!?! I honestly fail to see what the hype is around this movie.
The viewer can easily figure out what's wrong with her back (the swan's feathers will grow out eventually), yes Nina is pretty psycho, but there is nothing really interesting going on.
And if the hype is around the sexual/masturbation scene... that scene is nothing but useless. It might have caused some 'talk', but neither that scene nor the entire movie for that matter, is worth giving Natalie Portman an oscar. She's had better roles. Nothing special in her performance here.

If there could be a 0 star, I'd give it. I figured after PI and REQUIEM FOR A DREAM, *maybe* this new Aronofsky picture would be better, but turns out I didn't enjoy Black Swan either, so for me, that's it for this director. Three chances is more than enough.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Play Dead review

Posted : 6 years, 4 months ago on 29 March 2011 05:44 (A review of Play Dead)

Honestly, I couldn't put this book down, after starting it last Friday. I finished it Sunday morning and cried my heart out. Such a beautiful ending. YES, it is somewhat predictable, but what IS NOT, is the _major_ twist. WOW! is all I can say, without spoiling it.

For a first novel, this is rather excellent. I've read other Coben novels, but this, so far, is my favorite.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Tourist review

Posted : 6 years, 5 months ago on 21 March 2011 10:36 (A review of The Tourist)

WHAT A PIECE OF CRAP!!! I've NEVER in my life felt so strongly about such a crappy piece of garbage. I tolerate just about anything in movies, but that was just bad beyond belief. Don't bother with that one.
If there could be a 0 star, I'd give it.
I wasn't even sure whether it was a comedy or not, but in any case, there wasn't even anything funny about it. That's 100 minutes of my life I want back but can't.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Extraordinary Measures review

Posted : 7 years, 3 months ago on 15 May 2010 09:26 (A review of Extraordinary Measures)

The title word *Extraordinary* applies to the acting performance of the entire cast, Fraser, Ford, Russell, Fraser's on-screen kids... everyone is indeed *extraordinary*.
The little girl, Megan, even looks like Fraser, the cast was so good.
The performances were credible. Fraser looked tired all through the movie (with his new responsibilities, the moving, etc. he *had* to look tired), Ford had this "don't bullshit me" attitude, yet somehow they make through together.

As for the story, it gives viewers a sense of hope. Hope that someone will hear their cry for help. Hope that somebody will listen to them. Hope that someone will somehow one day find a solution... a cure for the Pompe disease.

A must-see.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

drama, comedy, social studies

Posted : 7 years, 9 months ago on 8 November 2009 10:23 (A review of Cranford)

The year is 1842. Cranford is a lovely small town, on the edge of modernization. Discover the lives of its residents with the arrival of the new doctor; with them, you will see their disputes, their tragedies, their loves and mostly their gossip.

This mini-series (part drama, part comedy, part social studies) produced by the BBC gives an incredible insight into the people of the time and into social history.

All actors and actresses were splendidly cast and deliver excellent performances.
The costumes, the sets, the photography - everything is of a top notch quality.

Laughter and tears guaranteed all through, and with every episode.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

injustices

Posted : 7 years, 9 months ago on 8 November 2009 10:13 (A review of Bleak House)

Dickens wrote a (little known) masterpiece here, and it has been extremely well adapted by the BBC.
In brief, Bleak House is a tale about the injustices of the nineteenth century British legal system.

It is my opinion that Gillian Anderson is the only actress whose performance is not remarkably good. Everyone else is excellent, and puts on credible performances.
The costumes, the sets, the photography - everything is of a top notch quality.
Although the series' episodes are quite slow at first, each episode is worth watching entirely, if only to see how the story develops up to the very end.

If you enjoy period movies and television series, this should definitely be on your list to watch, if you haven't already.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

fresh and captivating

Posted : 7 years, 10 months ago on 20 October 2009 07:02 (A review of Flashpoint)

I couldn't agree more with moonsoar's review.

I just watched this show's first season, and found it refreshingly captivating.
I also enjoy the fact that the team members can replace anyone else in the team; so you don't always get Enrico Colantoni as the negotiator (for example).
Emotions, ethics and morals play a big role here. You understand why the characters go through something illegal and unethical; and it makes you wonder what you would do in such situations...
Also true: the cast is excellent.
And this is a Canadian show... FINALLY a great Canadian show I'm proud of!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

premise interesting, movie ridiculous

Posted : 7 years, 10 months ago on 20 October 2009 06:54 (A review of Lies & Illusions)

The premise is interesting, though certainly not original: author's girlfriend Sam is found dead; following her death, the author, Wes (Slater), is hunted by bad guys (Cuba Gooding Jr. plays one) seeking their belongings, diamonds which Sam stole from them.
The movie's plotline could have been well developed. However, the directing makes it look like a grade-B movie.
The acting is a joke - is that all Slater and Gooding are good to do now, low-ratings and straight-to-dvd films?! They are in my opinion great actors, and have played in wonderfully excellent movies (think True Romance for Slater, and Radio for Gooding, to name only those two). You have to wonder what happened for both these actors to find themselves in such a crappy movie...
The fights, the car chases, the script (filled with idiotic situations - the writer obviously never had a vault in a bank! just that scene was unbelievable) - all this makes the movie useless and unbearable to watch.
Don't bother. Unless you want to laugh/study bad movie directing/scriptwriting.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

better than expected

Posted : 8 years, 9 months ago on 9 November 2008 12:04 (A review of Sex and the City)

Definitely much better than expected.
Decent acting.
I personally found SJ Parker looking horribly... old, compared to the other 3 main actresses. The make-up could have been better.
The story was obviously... predictable.

After watching this romantic film, I still feel no interest in watching the series, however popular and recommended it may be. But the movie isn't all that bad.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block